+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Want to study

Hi all.

Haven't been on bub hub in a while, but I'd like to ask a question.
    I would like to study midwifery next year, but with large debt, my partners income isn't enough on its own even though he earns a nice amount.
    I currently work 15-20 hours a week in admin.
    How do others do it? I'd probably have to find a new job with flexible hours as my job is set days, and I don't know what the uni timetable will be like (as well as placement.)
    So any tips, or would anyone like to share how they manage?
    My son is 15 months old & we would also like to have another in the next two years (finding time for personal study isn't my issue, it's the contact hours that is my main problem)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Hi I am currently studying nursing part-time with the intention of entering into midwifery too. I have a 19 month old and am pregnant with my second. Attending all your lectures may be difficult but most unis have them all recorded so you can watch them at home when you have time. I have found that by doing it part time is easier for me as I won't have any placement until my second year, so the kids will be older and it will be easier to be away for long periods, studying part time may suit you as well cause you won't have to do any placement the first year and you may be better off financially in a year or so to be able to do it. I am only able to study the first year part time though so will be full time from my 3rd year, not sure if that is same with midwifery

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts