+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Default Spin off - Preventing child abuse.

I am overwhelmed lately with sadness for victims of child abuse. I keep reading horrible stories in the news and they haunt me for weeks. I think it is possibly the worst crime there is.

I have some experience with the child protection system through some work I have done with foster kids. The current system is failing big time - we all know that. A big flaw seems to be too many resources need to be focused on removing/protecting children who are already abused and neglected.

What is the answer for preventing abuse and neglect in the first instance?

More family support? A better "village" system? Education? Forced sterilisation of prior offenders? More caseworkers? A license to have kids? Mandatory regular health checks? I don't necessarily agree with any or all of these possibilities.

What can we do to make a difference?

I am interested in your thoughts.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Well it won't be a popular view but I believe strongly in forced sterilization of repeat offenders. I believe you give up your rights when you knowingly repeatedly force society to cope with your mistakes.

3. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to sunnyflower For This Useful Post:

Blessedwith3boys  (09-07-2013),kriista  (09-07-2013),PurpleButterfly4  (06-10-2013),VicPark  (10-07-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I am not familiar with the 'system' that's in place so can't really comment on what changes are needed there.

I do feel that more community mind-ness, the village raising children so to speak may in some cases help.