+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Royal Womens Hospital in Melbourne - feedback please!

Hello ladies, I'm brand new to Melbourne from the US just last month, and am now 35 weeks pregnant with my second son. We moved to Australia to raise our children and for a better lifestyle. My husband is Australian.

I am using the public system, since most private health policies have a 12 month waiting period before they will cover private maternity costs. Because of our location (Essendon), I was registered at the Royal Womens. Everyone I've talked to since arriving in Melbourne has raved about it. But my experience has been anything but positive.

I've felt like a number. Like I'm one in a herd of cattle they're wrangling. I've had only two appointments there, neither of which have been personal at all. I'm given little opportunity to voice my concerns or feelings. It's as if all the midwives/nurses have memorized scripts that they want to recite so they can move on to the next patient. Nobody has expressed interest in my wants/needs as far as birth plan goes, or desires regarding drugs during labor, etc. They haven't bothered to weigh me (something they always did first thing in the US). I won't see a midwife again until 29 weeks! That's only 3 appointments before giving birth there.

I've read some mixed reviews of this hospital, many on completely opposite ends of the spectrum from "excellent" to "horrible". Does anyone have an opinion or experience they could share? I don't know where else to turn and I'm a bit worried about my upcoming experience at this hospital. Thanks!

Thanks
    Reviews