+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Your tips for studying with a baby

Ok, so I've decided I'm getting back into study in August. I'm due with #1 this month, so I'll have a newborn too.

I'd love some tips on what worked for you for studying with a new bub or even if your children are a bit older

My study isn't at uni so I won't need to go to classes or anything. I might have sessions to attend bit I imagine these won't be very often.

I really want to do well so any tips will be great! Thanks

Thanks
    Reviews
    I studied full time when my kids were 5 and 2. What worked for me was having routines (we started routines when the kids were babies itself) and knowing them helped me plan my studies. I also did my readings whenever I could rather than wait till night when the kids were asleep. Whenever the kids fell sick or something unexpected came up like DH's travel, knowing that I had already done my weekly readings and made notes helped a lot. Oh and if you're using references in assignments, make note of them as you plan your points. I used to waste so much time formatting and going back to references at the last moment!
    Also planning with food and things especially around the time assignments were due. I found that people in the family really struggle along with the person who studies, as there are so many changes and sacrifices. Although since you're studying long distance it may be different. Good luck!

3. The Following User Says Thank You to loveshack For This Useful Post:

troopingfairy  (09-06-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    My tip: learn how to breastfeed and type one handed at the same time.

I've almost acquired a diploma online since having DD 20months ago (Currently on placement and almost finished). Only problem now is she still associates the computer with having a feed, and still clambers all over me whenever I sit here, lol.