+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Did having children change your thoughts about your job/career?

A bit of background (sorry if this is long):

I graduated from uni 4 years ago and have not really done much in that time I wasn't sure if I wanted to continue on with this career path, so I really just bummed around in different jobs until I got sick of it and went and did something else. Whilst I loved doing something different, we realised we wanted to try for a baby and I wanted the stable and better income. So I'm back into my original career path.

Now, I need to do extra study to get anywhere in this career and I plan on starting this on maternity leave. But I'm worried that having a baby will change my mind on how I feel about my chosen career or maybe that I might want to be a SAHM and just do some sort of work a couple of days a week (not an option in my current job). Then this study will be a waste of time and money (and I've done enough of that already!!).

I'd like to hear about how you felt about your career path or job once you had babies. Did it make you more ambitious? Did it make you realise it's just a job and there are more important things out there? The rational side of my brain says to not worry about study just yet, but the thing is my job is not 100% secure so if I need to look for another job afte mat leave then I'll need to have started this study to show prospective employers I'm serious, if that makes sense.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I think a lot of things come down to where you want to be in 5-10 years time? Do you plan on having more children? How many more?