+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default what can you tell me about financially supporting myself & 3 children?? Help!!

I am planning to leave my husband in 12 months or so. I have a bit of work to do beforehand. I am currently a sahm of 3 children (3, 5, and 7) with no job. I was a professional for 10 years before stopping to have kids. I am working out how much money i might need from a job to support me and the kids. I would really value and appreciate any input from those of you that have done it before and things you learnt!! I am trying to cover all my bases, and am not sure what I am entitled to either. TIA...

Thanks
    Reviews
    Can I ask why you're planning it in 12 months? That's a long time and a lot can happen in a year.

Firstly I would be contacting Centrelink to see what you are entitled to.
    I would then look at working out a budget and based on that decided on things like affordable locations to move, what things you may need to set up your own place, employment opportunities etc.

I think having a plan really helps and can be less overwhelming.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to MrsOhara For This Useful Post:

2made3  (19-05-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    I agree with PP, Centrelink & child support agency have calculators online so you can work out what you're entitled to, you can only earn about $200-$250 per fortnight from work before your benefits get affected but you should still get some single parent payment plus family tax a and b, child care assistance, child support.

Good luck!

5. The Following User Says Thank You to SummerFun For This Useful Post:

2made3  (19-05-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Thanks for that. I say 12 months just because i have to find a job, house, etc and i also have a child with special needs to consider this yr as he starts school next yr xx

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts