+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default What is the difference getting immunization at GP vs immunization clinic?

I am new to Oz. Based on my understanding vaccines are free at immunization clinic. So why do some still go GP to get their baby vaccinated. Is there a difference?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    If the GP bulk bills, then the vaccines (on the standard schedule) will be free at the GP also.

The family will likely have an existing relationship with the GP and would rather work with someone they know and trust. (For example, the nurse at my GP (who does the immunisations) is a former midwife and is really experienced with babies and children. I feel really comfortable with her. The doctors even defer to her for these appointments. Typically she'll run them, and they'll just sign where required.)
    Last edited by sweetseven; 14-05-2013 at 21:13.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Cost is the difference! Unless your GP bulk bills. Plus you don't have to be part of a massive line!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    My GP doesn't charge and the nurse actually gives the shot. She has a great bedside manner which makes all the difference now DS is a bit older and more aware of what's going on.

We did the council ones when he was very little but now I feel not being part if the crying production line makes the whole thing less stressful for him.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Despite having a great GP, I have mostly used an immunisation clinic. When my first was born, I would go with my mother's group and we'd get our bubs done on the same morning. Having company while waiting made the time pass quicker!