+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    heeeeerekittykitty is offline My babies, my cats ....ahhhh , bliss !!!
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Please help the most hopeless housewife .....

When it comes to cooking . I am an ok cook. WHEN I cook . I rarely cook. I whip up something quick and healthy for the kids , me and hubby live on sandwiches , noodles or crap.

I seriously feel overwhelmed like I don't have time. Which is lame I know, every mother on here is so busy , and with even more children that just 2 like I have .

My son has therapy three days a week , my daughter has speech therapy once a week , I do a HEAP of home therapy with them and I feel like I am always just behind with everything and anything . I'm frazzled always . I always feel overwhelmed .

Please help me with things I can freeze ? I need to utilise my time better . The times I am cooking I have so much left over and it goes to waste as I just don't know what you can and can't freeze . I'm hopeless with this stuff .

Can I freeze rice ?
    Baked pasta?
    Steamed or baked vegetables ?
    Do I let it cool before freezing ?
    Meat that's ALREADY cooked for example mince meat .

Forgive my dumbness :-)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    All pasta/lasagne is good for freezing. Just make it extra saucy.
    I also make up pasta bakes or lasagnes during the day when I get the chance, put in the fridge, then put in the oven ready for dinner time.

Your best off preparing your vegies and freezing uncooked.

Mince dishes like cottage pie and chilli con carne are good for freezing. Again, just add extra sauce.

I always get cooked meals to fridge temp then freeze.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 posts
    Awards:
    Past Moderator - Thank you