+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Question working in childcare - any info appreciated

I'm thinking of studying to become a childcare worker but have no idea where to start. I used to be a high school teacher but thought I might retrain in childcare for when I return to the workforce once my kids are a bit older.

Can anyone shed some light on what qualifications I need to get?
    How many hours per week do you have to study for (obviously this will vary but a general idea is good)?
    I've heard the pay is pretty low, but just how low is it?
    Is it an area where jobs are available or are there more workers than positions most of the time?

I'm in Albany (south WA) if that makes any difference.

Thanks!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Personally after working in childcare and becoming an early childhood teacher I don't recommend you becoming a childcare teacher, I feel for you becoming a high school teacher would be a good choice, also not as much chance of burnout. From the lack of parttime work in childcare which drives me nuts, at least a good rate of pay and holidays high school teaching is extremely rewarding. Primary school teaching is good but at present there is glut of people wanting these roles. Maybe you could research to do some study for high school teaching by correspondence. Good luck

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    What qualifications do you have? Depending on your qualifications you may be able to do a graduate diploma in early childhood which would allow you to teach in an early childhood setting. Early childhood services are crying out for teachers at the moment and a preschool setting offers the same conditions as a school (maybe a bit less money depending on where you are)

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Hootenanny For This Useful Post:

PurpleButterfly4  (09-05-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews