+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Advice on donor sperm please

Hi all, I have a friend (in Victoria) who wants a child but has not had any luck finding a partner. She has decided to go it alone to have a child. Can anyone tell me how it works in VIC or in other countries? I'm an IVF veteran so I understand straight forward ivf but have no idea what happens when sperm is required. Thanks in advance

Thanks
    Reviews
    I am 17 weeks pregnant to a donor. There are various ways to go, what worked for me was the Internet I found a donor online and via email we worked out we were compatible and worked on logistics. I made sure he had all testing done including sperm. I also did several iui's and Ivf before meting my which cost a lot of money and in the end because I had no fertility issues I regret, it was a hideous experience that resulted in several miscarriages, that's my perception not everyone has the same thankfully. I found it cold and the staff did not treat you like a human. You can access donor sperm through clinics, but each clinic recruits their own donors and has their own criteria. Your friend needs to do what she feels comfortable with, I was lucky my donor was wonderful and it worked 2nd go. Good luck to your friend choosing to take control and have a baby alone is an empowering decision.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Arli For This Useful Post:

Beta  (28-04-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Bump

Thanks
    Reviews
    Hi, Im single and currently doing IVF with Donor Sperm in NSW. My clinic were fantastic and the process has been great. However, I believe the law may be different in VIC.... I know of one bub hubber who flew from VIC to QLD to get her sperm done...

There are particular clinics (particulary mine) that cater to single women / sperm donor / same sex couples without a blink of an eye, and others put you on the waiting list...