+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Default Sport in early pregnancy?

What is ok? What isn't?

Im approx 5wks preg by my dates (yet to see the gp). My last pregnancy ended in a misscarriage (5 weeks ago!!!).

I play soccer, was going to stop when i found out i was preg last time but when i lost it at 6 weeks I started playing again. Now im hesitant to stop my soccer incase I lose the bub again and all the explaining i'd have to do.

I love soccer, its my release. I train for 3hrs per week and play 1 70min game/week.

Thanks
    Reviews
    I continued weight lifting (heavy stuff) until about 10 weeks. I kept running until about 13 weeks and kept playing volleyball until 17 weeks. I only stopped then because I could feel him kicking and my balance was starting to go when I jumped lol - but I had been training 2 - 4 hours a week and playing two games a week (1 to 2 hours per game).

I stopped the running because I was just plain exhausted. I never got my energy back in the second trimester - I was just utterly exhausted/tired/drained/fatigued the entire pregnancy :P and weights I stopped because well, squatting 125kgs whilst pregnant didn't seem sensible lol.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I play soccer, too. I am currently approx 7-8 weeks pregnant and would not play right now. It has too much potential for contact for me to feel good about it. In fact, I have been playing in women's teams since I was 12, in 3 different countries, and every team has the same unwritten rule: do not play while pregnant.

Random question: why do you have a 70 minute game?!

Thanks
    Reviews
    I play hockey and stopped as soon as I found out I was pg (was easier to wiggle out of with lame excuses as we were playing off season comp over the summer at the time, not 'real' season).