+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Change of career? Any teachers out there?

Just wondering if there are any teachers out there who have completely changed their career? I've been teaching for 10 years and have returned this year part time after my second lot of maternity leave.

I am finding that I'm not enjoying the job any more. I feel like I'd love a job where you go home at the end of the day and leave work at work. I'd like to get paid for the hours I actually put in (cue all the teacher bashing about working 9-3 12 weeks holiday a year blah blah). I'm finding I'm a bit over working with kids, especially dealing with overly emotional parents who think that I don't know how to do my job. I'm over the programming expectations and all the hoops we seem to have to jump through.

Maybe I've got a 10 year itch or something but I think I'd like to do something else. Anyone out there feeling the same as me or have made a career change? I'd love to hear from you

Thanks
    Reviews
    Bumpity bump anyone?

Mod-biscotti is online now Administrator Administrator
    Winner 2012 - Naughtiest/Cheekiest Mod
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 posts
    I didn't completely change my career as such but I did go and teach in a quite different setting for 10 years after 10 years in a main****** classroom and now I have gone full circle and am back in a primary classroom and enjoying it again.

Perhaps consider a setting change? A change is as good as a holiday or so they say

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Mod-biscotti For This Useful Post:

Chippa  (02-04-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews