+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Opinions needed - Adult Hairdressing Apprenticeship

I'm living in an area with not much work and am presently going through a re-evaluation process with regards to studying, finding a life purpose etc.

Previously, I worked in the beauty industry and have taken it up again albeit on a private basis (eg. don't work in a salon).

[Also, thanks to some of the responses I received in here a little while ago about studying, I am also doing that too - just one subject - but I'm enjoying that.]

There's an apprenticeship in hairdressing being offered in a good salon where I am. It's a 3 year programme but with my age and RPL, I could do it in two. I am considering because it because it offers me the chance to combine my skills that I already have and it offers full-time and local employment and because it marries up perfectly with the quals I already have.

For those in hairdressing I have some questions:

- have you had mature aged apprentices where you work and have they succeeded;
    - if you are an employer, what has been your experience with older apprentices;
    - if you are or have been an older apprentice, what has your experience been;
    - any comments you want to add even if they appear negative...I'm a realist and I appreciate realistic outlooks.

I want to weigh up everything and don't know anyone in the hairdressing trade to ask which is why I'm asking here. Thank you in advance.

Last edited by happy wanderer; 01-04-2013 at 16:45.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Subbing. I am planning on doing hairdressing when I'm ready to go back to work. I'm tossing up whether to do it as an apprenticeship or as a full time course.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to atomicmama For This Useful Post:

happy wanderer  (01-04-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews