+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default How can Grandparents be so selfish...

I've never had a great relationship with my parents. It's all ranged between terrible, fair & ok. Mostly sitting on fair.

I feel like I was a complete inconvenience to them. They were never happy or proud of me. Never spent quality time with me, I use to wish they'd die so I could go & live with my Aunt & Uncle because they loved their kids & spent time with them. Taught them life skills I'm only learning now as a 30yr old (mostly from my husband).

Anyway fast forward, I've now got two beautiful kids of my own & I hoped that my parents would right the wrongs of my past & deem my kids to "be good enough" to spend time with. They only will care for them when it's been completely prearranged & after last night I'm in two minds if I even want them in my life now.

They had my children from 11am yesterday so we could attend a wedding 3hrs drive away. That's right, we drove up & back in a day just so my parents didn't have to have them too long. Friends of ours went on the Friday night & come home today. Their parents have had their kids for two nights. In fact the grandmother in that situation loves having her grandchildren & always has at least one of them nearly every day. Last night she had 4 kids to care for & she was in her element.

Why are mine so damned selfish. It's breaking my heart to watch history repeat itself with my children. I got a message on my phone when I woke up say "they've had a late night & early morning, ring when u wake up". So I rang about a half hour later when I woke, and asked how they were & the answer I got was a snappy "they're ready to go home".

So I called her on it, and she hung up on me. So I text her, then she called & screamed at me & hung up.