+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Hypoplasia/ IGT (insufficient glandular tissue)

any mums out there have this and how did you go with giving bub the extra milk they need?
    Did you have to topup all during the day or just at the end of the day?
    Did you manage to use ebm or chose to use formula?
    As bubs began to take more solids did you continue to breastfeed as there milk needs decreased?
    a think i have a degree of this but my normal GP says i don't; just slightly lower supply

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Hi, I have hypoplasia of the breast and unfortunately I had to turn to bottlefeding completely as I was unable to keep going. I am pregnant with my 5th child now and will bottle feed him also

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Pawzette For This Useful Post:

PinkPopsicle  (22-03-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Pretty sure I have this. At 6 days old, exclusively breast fed, we were readmitted to hospital because ds had lost 17% of his birth weight.

I tried everything after that to boost my supply, but nothing worked exactally. I was on motillium, fenugreek, drinking water like a fish, made lactation cookies, feeding on demand or 3 hrs-whichever was first, and expressing after each feed. 24/7 until he was 4mnths old. By then, I may have achieved one ebm bottle feed a day (around 100mls) ...on a good day.

He went through breast refusal at 4 months, but I continued expressing til he was 6mnths, every 3 hrs during the days.

Basically, I bf, toped up on ebm, in a syringe in the early days each feed, as id only get maybe 7 ml ebm after each feed, and it wasn't worth putting in a bottle.... A he got older I saved the ebm up all day and gabe out to him in a bottle once I had around 60-80 ml. Then id offer formula until he was finished.

5. The Following User Says Thank You to shadowangel0205 For This Useful Post: