+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Recovery after emergency c-section

Hi there everyone, I'm very new to this and a bit nervous (not sure why).
    I had an emergency c-section nearly 4 weeks ago after an 18 hour labour where my baby was posterior and I got to 9cm but couldn't quite get that last bit as I had an anterior lip (of my cervix) also. So I had an epidural to relax and about 40mins into it baby's heart rate started to drop and so a c-section was required. It was all very unexpected as I'd had such a great pregnancy and done calmbirth and my labour was really good. But at the end I was healthy and so was my baby boy which was fantastic. Since then I've been back to hospital as the right side of the wound was weeping and infected so was on antibiotics for a week and its now healing well. I have a few questions if anyone can offer some support or advice I'd really appreciate it.
    I still feel a bit tender on the right side, almost like a gentle pull sometimes - is this normal and will it subside with time?
    How have other people's c-section recovery been? I don't know many people who have had one and so I feel a bit in the dark.
    I am starting to feel a bit frustrated/disappointed that I can't lift and carry my baby as much as I'd like and can't drive. It's starting to affect my confidence and I feel like I have very little independence. My partner is amazing in all that he has done and continues to do and I'm so grateful but I feel like I'm missing out.
    There is one stitch on the right side of the wound that is just hanging there (the stitches were all internal). The nurse said last week it would drop out but it hasn't yet and I'm not sure what to do about it.

Thank so much for any replies :-)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Hi!