+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Default A little overwhelmed ...

So my DS1 started prep this year. His teacher has mentioned to me that they did a prep screener test and out of the 100+ preppies he's scored the highest in the test. He's a late April born so also one of the youngest in his cohort. He turns 5 next month. In fact she's been in early childhood for 20+ years and is completely blown away by his ability.

Now I've always known he was clever but even though I'm a primary teacher myself I've never done any standardised testing on him. His work samples are being used as 'A' standard during moderation with staff and he grasps things very quickly. I've known he's a fast learner and I'm often amazed by his thought processes. But it's now been mentioned to me just how high he is in ability. I feel a bit careless in that he has this great natural ability but I've never really honed in on it. I didn't want to be a 'teacher' to him at home so I only ever guided him at his own interest. Like at two he was asking about speed signs on the side of the road and quickly grasped his 'ty' numbers. He has handled money a bit so understands how many cents make a dollar and what coins are needed and just loves time so since he was two has been telling the time. This has all been incidental learning. I've never made it a mission to give him a lesson as such.