+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default To have or not to have Amnio test... stuck between a rock and a hard place

Hi all,

I am new to the Bub Hub. I am 13 weeks pregnant and aged 36. I have just received a call with my 12 scan results and have a 1 in 282 chance of having a child with Downs.My bloods are fine, just the neck measurement is a bit thicker than normal. Whilst my obst isn't concerned over the results , she has put me in a bit of a grey area and has left it to me as to whether or not if I want to go ahead with an amni test. I feel like I am stuck inbetween a rock and a hard place. I would like to know the answer as to whether I will have a child with Downs yet I don't want to risk miscarring a healthy baby. What would you do?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    That's a tough decision.

Did your OB mention the possibility of having the iGeneScreen blood test? It's relatively new - only came out in Aus late last year - but there have been similar ones in the US for a bit longer (MaterniT21 is one). It's a blood test (your blood) only, and they somehow extract a small amount of fetal DNA that makes it into your blood ******, then analysethe chromosomes. They claim to have a 99% accuracy rate in detecting Downs. It's $1350, plus a consultation fee (compulsory "counselling" before hand). You get a bit back on Medicare for the consultation, but none on the cost of the blood test. The results take about 3 weeks to come back (from China), and sometimes they can't get anough DNA and have to take more blood.

My OB is sceptical about the test, but another OB I talked to thought the results so far were pretty good. I'm not sure what the arrangements are in other states, but in WA you need to get an OB to do a "consultation" and give you a referral, then the bloods are taken by Western Diagnostic at Myaree.

Best wishes for your decision - I know it's a hard one to make.