+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Who's been private first then public for next baby??

We're TTC next month. We had our DD private last year and didnt have a positive experience.
    i won't be going back to that hospital....
    Im looking at other private hospitals and obs in Brisbane (either mater or Greenslopes) but then I'm starting to consider public.
    What was the difference for you from private to public and would you recommend? I did enjoy the private room but is $3000 worth it second time around...
    thanks

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I'm a midwife at a public hospital and it's very common for women who went private first and were low risk and had a normal birth to seek public care for their second particularly midwife continuity of care, as the private care either wasn't what they expected or they felt that the expensive fees weren't worth it.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Quote Originally Posted by wannawannabe View Post
    I'm a midwife at a public hospital and it's very common for women who went private first and were low risk and had a normal birth to seek public care for their second particularly midwife continuity of care, as the private care either wasn't what they expected or they felt that the expensive fees weren't worth it.
    hmmm. This sounds exactly like me. I don't believe the hype of private lived up to my expectations but maybe because I had a disappointing time. Still exploring all my options though but public is on the cards.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Would the Birth Centre at RBWH interest you or are you on the south side of the river?

Mater public also have a Midwifery Group Practice which is again the continuity of care program with a known midwife.

Another thing to look into is a private midwife (same as having a private OB but they're a midwife!)

Have a look at My midwives Brisbane south