+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Smile Student midwife - Logan Hospital or homebirth in Brisbane

I'd like to say a huge thank you to all the lovely ladies who contacted me. I now have a (very) full schedule for this year. If you are birthing at Logan Hospital and would like a student midwife, please contact me and I can pass your details on to another student. Alternatively, please visit this page to sign up for the program.

Hello, and congratulations on this wonderful, exciting (and probably a little bit scary) time in your life.

My name is Tobie-Jane. I'm 33 years old and a mother of four beautiful "babies" (my youngest is five and started Prep this year, but they're all still my babies). I am also a student midwife at Griffith University. As part of our program we have the opportunity to follow twenty women through their pregnancy, birth and the postnatal period until their baby is six weeks old. These are called Continuity of Care experiences. One of the major benefits is to allow us to experience the journey to becoming a mother from the woman's perspective, by getting to know the woman and her family and having the chance to discuss her thoughts, feelings, fears and joys.

If you will be birthing your baby at Logan Hospital, or your are planning a homebirth with a private midwife in the greater Brisbane area, you are 35 weeks pregnant or less, and you would like to consider having a student midwife follow your journey then I would love to hear from you. As your student midwife I will attend your antenatal appointments, you would call me once you go into labour and I will attend while you birth your baby, and I would then visit you and your baby after the birth, including the six week check up. There is no cost, participation is entirely voluntary and you can change your mind at any time with no consequences to your maternity care.