+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Work Maternity Leave and PPL

Hello

I am a newbie here and a newbie to the whole world of babies. My partner and I are trying for a baby and I just have a few questions about leave.

I am entitled to three months paid maternity leave where I am employed. So I am planning on taking that and using up all the annual leave I have too so I should be taking about 4.5 months off in total and then return to work part time.

Whilst receiving my work maternity leave pay could I get the PPL at the same time or can I only get that once my work one runs out? I have been told a few different things but just wanted some clarification. I am deciding whether the PPL or baby bonus would be a better option.

Sorry if I sound daft. Thanks

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Contact centerlink but I'm pretty sure you can get it at the same time. There website said something about it
    "you will be able to access other paid leave such as maternity leave at the same time as Parental Leave Pay, but you may be taxed at a higher rate"
    http://www.humanservices.gov.au/cust...e-pay/payments

I know I am hoping to do this.
    I also would double check your hr department if it's their policy to pay at the same time or not.
    Ours won't so I'll get it paid to me directly via centerlink

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Plan2bamummy is absolutely right. I know someone who is doing this.

Thanks
    Reviews

Yep you can receive both at the same time, I did for my DS and have been approved for later in the year with DD. You can't be working while receiving PPL so just make sure you return to work after the payments have been completed (if you choose this option)

Thanks
    Reviews