+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default 2nd year student midwife looking for women to support in Melbourne!

Looking for women to support in eastern, north-eastern and inner city suburbs of Melbourne.

Hello!

My name is Amanda and I’m a student midwife at ACU. We have a Continuity of Care program that engages pregnant women from the community. At its core the program aims to facilitate relationships between student midwives and women, that follow through from the antenatal to postnatal period. This is because the latest research indicates that these relationships are beneficial for both the woman and baby.

As a student midwife I can support you through your pregnancy by being there for you at appointments, discussing issues with you, listening to any concerns and helping you create questions for your care provider. I can provide research on any issues as I have access to all the latest research through university databases. I can also provide support at your birth in any capacity you need ie I can provide direct support to you or I can provide support to you partner/birth support person while they are supporting you. I cannot provide advice.

This service is completely FREE. The benefit to me is that I get to be a part of your pregnancy journey and learn all I can from the experience. I am supported through my university by my lecturers who are all midwives as well as by a midwife mentor. You are also free to discontinue the program at any time.