+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Article in Daily Life re an obese 7 year old

I just read an interesting article (an extract from a book) regarding a mother putting her obese daughter on a diet.

On one hand I feel like it's important to prioritise your children's health and to do whatever it takes to make them healthy, but it seems like a harsh way for her daughter to learn about healthy eating.

I really hope I'm not opening a can of worms here and as my DD is only 12 weeks, I have no experience with children and eating, I just found the topic very interesting.

http://www.dailylife.com.au/lifestyl...126-2dd0b.html

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 postsDiamond Star - 20,000 posts
    It doesn't say she is over weight, or did I miss that part?

headoverfeet is offline The truth will set you free, but first it will **** you off. -Gloria Steinem
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 posts
    Awards:
    100 Posts in a week
    It says she weighed 45kg in the beginning.

4. The Following User Says Thank You to headoverfeet For This Useful Post:

Hokey Pokey  (26-01-2013)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    it said the lil girl as 45kg at 7...then lost 10kg over the year and was a healthy weight of 35kg at 8.

It doesn't say height or anything so I am guessing it was significant. My 8 year old boy is 30kg and he is skinny build (perfect weight for him though).

It is a tough one...we are conscious of what we eat and speak to DS a lot about balance and health and the food groups etc. If he didn't exercise as much as he does...we would watch his food intake closer.

6. The Following User Says Thank You to River Song For This Useful Post: