+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Why is midnight suddenly playtime?

Hi all, what do you do when all your LO wants to do at midnight (ish) is play for 2 hours? 12 mth old DD will have already had 4-5 hours sleep, wake and want to play before getting tired enough to go back to sleep after about 2 hours.. what did you do for coping with this and did they eventually grow out of it??

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Why is midnight suddenly playtime?

I have no experience with this sorry, but I think I would be keeping all lights off and not letting them play with any toys or anything. Keep it as dark and boring as possible, no talking etc and hopefully they will realise that when they wake in the night, there's nothing exciting happening and stop wanting to play. Good luck, that would drive me nutso!!

Thanks
    Reviews

Default Re: Why is midnight suddenly playtime?

Subbing for ideas seeing my nearly 2 year old does this every now and then its exhasting

Sent from my GT-I9000 using BubHub

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Awards:
    100 Posts in a week

DS does this Has been doing it since around 11 months old and hes now 16 months. He could honestly play all night! I noticed it coincides with him getting teeth, has your Lo been cutting teeth lately?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

How long does she nap in the day? What time does she wake from her last nap? Perhaps too she's sleeping too much or too late in the day? So she could be going to bed too early. Have you tried a later bed time?

Has she recently dropped a sleep? Maybe when she wakes up she thinks it's the end of nap time and not the middle of the night.

As a pp said, keep it dark and boring so that she gets that it's night time. What is your bedtime routine? Could you possibly repeat it when she wakes at midnight?