+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default sugar free. soy free, wheat free, dairy free, preservative free, egg free, coconut...

Hey all! I’m totally new to this allergy thing.
    I’ve actually really enjoyed going through the threads here. It’s been a real eye opener… and I used to think I was healthy. Sigh.
    My best friend has recently been given a list of foods by the doctor that she can’t eat. She’s my best friend, so OF COURSE I’m going to find ways to feed her! Plus, I think it would be good for us.
    (I’ve also told DP our new years resolution is to get rid of sugar in our diet. Since quitting smoking this year, he’s turned to lollies… I’ve compromised to “ok, you can’t buy anything with sugar in the top four ingredients.”)

Here is the list I’ve currently drawn up of what bestie can’t eat.
    No way.
    Cane Sugar.
    Soy, including tofu, but seems miso ok in small one off doses.
    Wheat
    Gluten
    No breadcrumbs (no small doses.)
    Most preservatives.
    Dairy.

Mostly no.
    Almonds.
    Coconut
    Parsnip
    Tuna
    Eggs
    Beef.

Doesn’t like
    Chinese food.
    Salami

Can do.
    Corn and corn grain.
    Seeds, ie chia and quinoa.
    Zymil milk.
    Honey
    Maple Syrup.
    Stevia.

Haven’t tried
    Goat’s milk and cheese.
    Fennel

It’s a work in progress, I’m adding things to the list as we go. Her favourite food in the whole world are potatoes, and nandos. She also loves Hog’s Breath, just to give an idea of what she likes.

To complicate things:
    Her DP and my DP won’t eat seafood.

My DP also won’t eat (because he’s a picky mofo):
    - anything spicy or exotic.
    - noodles. (pasta is ok.)
    - Rice.
    - Rice paper.

But he’s generally happy to just eat fruit loops for dinner if I cook something “fancy.”