+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Planned C-Section, what to expect?

I had planned to have a vaginal birth throughout my pregnancy but due to developing fairly severe polyhydramnios my OB has recommended delivering by c-section.

Now I'm fine with having a c-section, I have never had a definite drive towards having one type of birth or another but I am just wondering if someone could enlighten me as to what to expect in terms of preparation, the actual procedure, and recovery.

I'm stuck in hospital until bubs is born so have plenty of time to mull over it.

Thanks

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Hi Grebecci!
    I've never had a caesar, but I'm a midwife so can help you out with a bit of it.

Also make sure you ask your midwives and doctors questions as well, as it the procedure at your hospital might differ a bit from what I'm used to.

So preparation:
    If you're on the morning theatre list (8am-12pm) then you'll fast from midnight and the afternoon theatre list (1pm-4pmish) you'll fast from 6amish.

In the morning the midwives will come around and get you 'prepped' from theatre. This generally involves having a shower using a special antiseptic soap, dressing in a theatre gown and ted stockings, taking out all jewellery and maybe a shave/clip but sometimes they do that in theatre as well. Then you wait. And wait some more. And then wait a little bit more, especially if your not first on the list. It can seem like forever. And a bit nerve-wrecking because there's nothing you can do, except sit in your room and wait. And be hungry. The midwives will also do your obs and run through a tonne of pre-op paperwork which is all generally stuff about have you removed your jewellery, do you have any false teeth, allergies, when did you last eat etc.