+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Returning to full time work after baby - can you share your experiences with me?

Hi guys,
    I'm thinking of returning to work full time next year, when DS is 12 months old. I'm a teacher, but I've always had temporary work and an opportunity has come up where I may (finally) be offered a permanent position. For those of you teachers out there you would know that a permanent position with the DET can be hard to get, so it seems like an opportunity not to be thrown away.
    After working a year or two, I would be able to change to a part time position (after having bub #2, which we will TTC early 2014) and my position would be held for me for 5 years (until the youngest child starts school).
    Financially, I need to work. We are young and we started our family young, we have a mortgage and are paying off two personal loans.
    I'm just worried about leaving my baby every day. It will break my heart. He will be left with DH, Mum and MIL, so no day care is needed as yet.
    I'd love to hear your experiences, in particular any teachers out there. But I'm open to hear all stories! Did you return full time? How old was bubba? Who did you leave them with? How did you feel when you started back at work? I'm afraid I'll find myself bawling my eyes out in the bathrooms at recess and lunch, missing my precious baby
    Thanks everyone xx

Thanks
    Reviews

Default Re: Returning to full time work after baby - can you share your experiences with me?

I went back to full time work when dd wad 7months. She then stayed home with dh for 7months and then started childcare full time. i felt fine about it she was having a great time with dh and as a couple we both wanted the experience of staying home. dd loves her childcare and is happy to be dropped off by dh every morning. i finish work at 4pm so she hasnt got a really long day which i think is good.