+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default WDYT of "The virgin gut" aka one bottle of formula does harm?

I've been having a rough time lately and I really feel like DH and I need to get out for the night by ourselves. DS is 7 weeks and exclusively BF so far, I would like to leave him with my parents, but I have trouble expressing with my crappy hand pump and even if I can get enough I'm scared it won't be enough if he's hungry and we'll be an hour away.

The virgin gut basically says just one bottle of formula destroys or alters the natural flora in the gut which can lead to allergies and tummy problems (I'm not very good at explaining in but if you google it there is heaps of info on it)
    So what do you think, is it a bit over the top or should I try hard to avoid a bottle of formula?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    How long do you think you'll be away? Is there a reason you have to be an hour away from bubs? You could probably go out for 1.5 - 2 hours for a decent dinner without missing a feed at all.

My ds had formula in special care until he was 8 days old (in addition to EBM) but then was exclusively BF til 5 months when had formula for a night out. He had reflux and gut issues, but I don't think the formula played a role at all. Both me & my dh had reflux as bubs so genetically he was predisposed and he also had gut issues in hospital after a difficult birth and he wasn't allowed to drink anything for the first 48 hours so that wasn't the fault of the formula. As for allergies, he has none (and he's nearly 6 and dh & I have heaps of allergies, so he's done well).