+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default First Antenatal Appointment

Three days ago... Positive test! Although, I was pretty sure I knew before I even took one. My body is making it pretty obvious. Took a second test yesterday... another reassuring positive. We're pregnant!

This is my first pregnancy and I'm very new to all of this.

When should I schedule my first appointment with a doctor?
    What should I expect to happen at the first appointment?
    I don't have a regular doctor (I always avoid the doctor like the plague), so what should I look for when choosing a doctor?
    Give me all the details! Hehe. I would love to hear what others went through in their first antenatal appointment.

Thanks for the help! I need it

αληθη is offline BH name read as Aleethee
    Winner 2012 - One most likely to be hacked by Nomsie
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

I've just had my first appointment!
    Make the appointment now, there's no point holding it off.
    At my appointment:
    He weighed me for a starting point
    Made a referral for me to get the usual pregnancy blood screening
    Helped me chose an Obstetrician and wrote a referral for me
    Helped me work out my edd (which I already knew)
    Took my blood pressure
    Answered any questions I had

Ask for a referral for an ultrasound though, mine didnt as he thought I'd get into the ob before my 12 weeks but because of Christmas and new year I will be 15 weeks and need to go back to get a referral for the 12 week scan.

Congrats on your positive!!

3. The Following User Says Thank You to αληθη For This Useful Post:

LeeJay  (24-11-2012)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Congrats on your positive and first appointment!!!
    Thanks for this information! Very helpful!

Did you just go to a local GP for the first appointment?