+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Default Got into nursing now undecided

I got into nursing for 2013, but now I can't defer it til 2014... I'm undecided what to do.

My options are struggle next year hope I can recover fast after bubs is born & return ASAP.

Reapply the year after and HOPE I get in again. I can't defer because this was an internal transfer I'm so depressed about this! It seems like another year waisted but I will have my beautiful baby too. :'(

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Anyone at all studying with newborns?!

StretchmarkBarbie is offline Senior Member
    Winner 2009- Best Username Award
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

I started studying nursing when my youngest was only 10 months old. It was honestly really really hard and the work load is massive. Is doing it part time an option for the first two years? Then you only add a year to the degree length and you won't be away from baby too much

Thanks
    Reviews

I'm a nurse and I studied full time at uni, but I didn't have children then. To be honest it was pretty full on, and that's just the classes and studying and exams not to mention the practical placements which range from 2 - 4 weeks long, 8hrs a day 5 days a week. If you are planning to breastfeed that may be harder as some days I was at uni classes all day (it would be less if less if you are going part time though) they are pretty flexible with class timetables though. I also have a 6 week old now and I'm on maternity leave, and some days I struggle to shower and hang out a load of washing out! However this is me and I am not an organised person and I struggle to do more than two things at once!