+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Default Preparing mentally for a baby

My Manager asked the other day if I'm excited that bub will be here in around 13 weeks, and I said "you know what, I've been thinking a lot about all the stuff I need to buy and what it'll be like to be off work and how to deal with cloth nappies, but haven't given a whole lot of thought to the fact that I'm about to be a mum". She said she was the same and then a week before her son arrived, she had a moment of realization and said she thinks because of this, it was a massive adjustment for her to mentally get into mum mode. She suffered from PND and i worry that the lack of mental preparation could have contributed to this (my own assumption, i have very little knowledge of PND so correct me if I'm wrong).

So I guess my question is, how did you mentally prepare yourself for the arrival of your first child? Any tips on what to do / what not to do?

Thanks
    Reviews
    o0o0o good question... i'd like to know too!!

Thanks
    Reviews

I didn't mentally prepare much at all. It was hard for me to visualise my bump as a baby. Saying that I had a fair bit of experience looking after other babies. I wouldn't worry there is so much support out there especially midwife and child health nurse clinics. Our local one runs all sorts of parenting classes. And of course there's always bubhub

4. The Following User Says Thank You to gnomesy For This Useful Post:

LilPrincess27  (19-11-2012)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 posts

Default Re: Preparing mentally for a baby