+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Fab book for 12 year old girl?

We are sending books to the nieces and nephew this Christmas... the under 5's are getting Christmas-related picture books but there is one niece who is 12.

Is there an age-appropriate, gripping book for her that is somehow related to Christmas? Or a non-Christmas book you think she'd enjoy?

I don't know anything about her taste in books because she's overseas and I don't spend much time with her. 5 years ago she loved Cinderella and other girly fairy tales. (that's when I last saw her!)

Just looking for any ideas thanks everyone.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

My niece who just turned 13 loves any Meg Cabot book! She wrote the Princess Diaries and a series of different ones. She LOVES them and reads them over and over.
    I'm also a teacher and my older primary kids 11years+ love the Geronimo Stilton books. Another great author is Michael Morpurgo.
    I could list more like Diary of a Wimpy Kid, conspiracy 365 etc but it depends on her interests.
    Good luck! Maybe you can ask parents what she likes. Sorry none of them are specifically Christmas.
    Great idea though... I often buy books for my nieces but they adore reading.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Tamtam For This Useful Post:

onedayatatime  (17-11-2012)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Just investigated some of these authors and have found a book called: "Michael Morpurgo Christmas Stories". It's a collection of four of his Christmas stories. I'm not familiar with this author, is most of his work aimed at the approx 12 year old age-group? The description of the book sounds like it would be appropriate.
    Your reply was very helpful by the way Tamtam. I'll remember these authors for the future for my own ch'n.

Thanks
    Reviews