Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Need advice regarding rental - WWYD?

DH and I have been renting in the same home for almost 3 years. We have had no issues with our real estate up until now and have an impeccable rental record.

Just after we moved in, we applied to the RE to have a small dog. This was approved in writing. We have a copy of this letter.

Our dog has a bad habit of scratching at the back door and as such has torn some of the mesh screen on the back sliding door and scratched the back glass sliding door tithe point where we think the glass would need to be replaced. She has also scratched the wooden door into the garage and taken paint off the door.

Recently out RE send an email (out of the blue) demanding that these things be repaired in 30 days and reciepts for the repairs be presented at the office or we would recieve a breach. DH and I were a little angry about this as the letter we recieved and our lease do not specify time frames around when we need to repair damage done by our dog and we had always assumed we would repair the doors when we vacated the property. With a few emails back and forth the RE revealed that this was a direct request from the owner and that they would extend the timeframe to 60 days.

So my question is what rights do we as tenants have. If we were to professionally repair these doors our dog will scratch at them again. Are we able to speak directly to the owners? Do we offer a pet bond on top of our current bond? We really don't want to spend a couple of grand for professionals to fix these doors and have them damaged again.

What to do???

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Awards:
    100 Posts in a weekBusiest Member of the Week - Most posts for the week ended 19/6/2014

Default Re: Need advice regarding rental - WWYD?