+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Going about discipline...

Hi ladies,
    I'm hoping to get advice on how to have a structured discipline routine that works. My toddler is beginning to become defiant. Has even begun to hit in the height of frustration. Now, I'm not a smacker and don't believe that hitting the toddler will teach that hitting is not on.
    Ive tried time out but it is hard to be consistent as we have 2 homes already (here and dads) and 2 daycares as well. On top of the fact that until very recently there have been a lot of changes (separated 7 months ago, moved to my mums, started our current custody arrangement, I studied FT and the. Began work and moved houses in to a house with a housemate (who is wonderful and the toddler adores).

Now that we are stable, I'm in steady work and we won't be moving for a long time, I want to get a serious routine down pat with not only eating meals but discipline.

Im hoping someone may have some tips to share that the child understood and that worked.

TIA xxx

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Have you tried any parenting books? I've got copy of "Politically Incorrect Parenting", which has some good tips for discipline. I haven't tried them yet, but its based on reward systems.

Thanks
    Reviews

Default Re: Going about discipline...

I say watch Supernanny on thursday nights at 9.30pm. I think she teaches parents to persist and be consistent, and the folliw on from that, is that kids know what to expect when they do something wrong, so they think about the concequence before they misbehave.

Sent from my GT-I9000 using BubHub

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts

How old is he? I know with my DS ( just turned 2) time out would not work as he does not understand it!