+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Awards:
    100 Posts in a week

Default Need advice regarding travel money

I am an overseas travelling novice so please excuse my lack of knowledge...!

We are travelling to Fiji next week for 4 nights and we have never been overseas before.

I have to make arrangements regarding our spending money - just wondering what suggestions anyone can make regarding taking money over.

My friend suggested we simply go to a bank and get our AUD converted into Fiji dollars so we just use cash over there, but I guess I'm just a little concerned about carrying around lots of cash.

Can you get some form of prepaid keycard you can load up with some money? I've been advised using credit cards isn't a great idea due to the fees.

Any help or advice will be appreciated

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Lucky you as I am a Fiji travel expert haha depending on what you are worried about paying for.. most places won't have eftpos facilities except for the resort. Where are you staying? Most resorts have safes in therooms so I would check with them. Some resorts also have ATMs and the major towns have anz and Westpac ATMs so you can withdraw money over there.
    I hope you enjoy your trip Fiji is my second home, when I am here I get homesick for Fiji haha

3. The Following User Says Thank You to mrstuilawa For This Useful Post:

Mod-Degrassi  (10-10-2012)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Also, depending where you live, some Australia posts have money exchange facilities with zero fees

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Awards:
    100 Posts in a week
    Quote Originally Posted by mrstuilawa View Post