+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Day care?? What on earth do I do?

Hi there,

This is my first child, and I am not due until early March but, I've just been hearing about how hard it is to get into a Day Care, Child Care Centre etc, and I'm freaking out! I have no experience in this matter at all!

I'm planning to have 12 months off work from late FEb, but when should I start looking/putting name on lists for Day Care? From the things I've been hearing, I should have put my name down last year!

At this stage I think I'm preferring FDC, but how on earth do you find a good one! How do you know? What do you do! Eek! Am I freaking out over nothing??

Any advice would be great!

threechooks is offline If my spelling annoys you that's your problem.... I have better things to do than proofread !
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Put your name down now with everyone. It can't hurt. Centres and FDC can't tell you about their vacancies until about 4-6 weeks before your start date.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Awards:
    Bubhub Blogger
    Depends on what day care is like where you live. I've had my son down at several places since I was six weeks pregnant, by the time he starts care in January he will have been on the list for 20 months. Friends who have children the same age who put their names down 2-3 months later are really struggling to find somewhere.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    Damn I hadn't even thought of this :/ another thing to add to my to do list!

Thanks
    Reviews
    I put my name down at the child care centre at work as soon as I found out I was pregnant. Theres an 18 month wait list so even by putting my name down when I was only 5 weeks pregnant, I still might not get a place straight away.

Thanks
    Reviews