+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default When to stop demand feeding?

DS is 7.5 weeks old and demands a feed every time he wakes up, even if he's only been asleep for ten minutes (which is frustratingly typical of his day sleeps). I'm demand feeding him and relatively happy to do so, but a few people have told me "oh he's not due for a feed if he only fed an hour ago". My sister watches the clock and feeds her babies four-hourly.

Should I be starting to wean DS onto a routine so he's not being fed every time he wakes up? Atm he wakes and will cry, then scream until I feed him. I'm happy to do what's right by him but don't want to make a rod for my own back by letting him expect to be fed after every sleep, no matter how small.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Awards:
    Bubhub Blogger
    It's completely up to you. I still demand feed my son at 10 months, although I have night weaned him, so I guess I'm not technically demand feeding! If you are happy, keep doing it.

I think 7.5 weeks is still so very little, there's no need to worry about getting into a routine yet.

Thanks
    Reviews
    I agree, bub is far, far too young. My DD is 10m and in the last week I've just been starting to give the occasional 'not right now'. You're still establishing your supply and your bub has a fantastic instinct to get what they need.

Thanks
    Reviews
    I demand fed till 15 months but next time I'll prob slow it down around 12 months...simply in order to get more solids into bub. But 7 weeks! No way would I have them on a feeding routine!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 postsRuby Star - 15,000 posts
    Well... I stopped breast demand feeding jasper at 2 years. I had to regulate his feeds at that age it was ridiculous.