+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Default How much does it really cost to renovate/extend?

Has anyone got any stories about buying a Reno or a 3 bed and making it a 4 bed?
    Do you regret it?
    Was it awesome?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts
    I have a hundreds of stories as I have been selling them for over 20 years!
    Do you mean to live in or to renovate to sell again?

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

We bought a very run down 2 bedroom ex-housing commission house with a relatively new separate garage on the property. We gutted the house - new bathroom, kitchen, ripped a wall or two down, moved the linen closet. It took 6 or so months of weekends (we didn't live there) to get the main house done and ready to rent out and cost about 30k. We did most of the work ourselves and used tradie mates where needed.

We converted the garage to a granny flat, I had DD at the start of that project so we had tradies do most of the work which made it happen much quicker. Approvals took the longest time! For building works and fees for approvals/certificates/general council red tape it was about 40-50k.

We get enough rent from the house and flat to cover all of the mortgage so yeah, it's worth it! Especially as values in that area are rising nicely.

It takes a lot of commitment to take on a project like that and be prepared for unexpected costs.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Hate it!
    We bought a reno job the designer screwed us around so much it's taken 4yrs from planning, council approvement to it being built.
    We've only just finished the new kitchen/living area. Still have the laundry and bathroom to go.