+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Co-sleeping with a 6week old

Hi all,

I'm new to this so please forgive me if this post makes no sense!
    DD is 6 weeks old and has co-slept with me since birth, she is my third baby but the first I've slept with, it worked really well initially as I loved not physically getting up to feed her at night, now however I'm having some problems.
    She sleeps on her side and won't settle unless my boob is in her mouth (she's not really feeding most of the time just using it as her dummy) this means I'm also constantly laying on my side, unable to move and I've been getting the worst hip pain from sleeping in this position! My hips constantly hurt all day now! It's really disrupting my sleep now as I'm in pain from my sleeping position and continually helping her to re-attach so she'll settle.

So for the past few nights ive been trying to get her to sleep in her bassinet, which she will do during the day without a problem. But at night she goes crazy, screaming and getting so upset. DH and I try to settle her, by patting, singing, rocking the bassinet but nothing works and I will eventually give in and bring her into bed.

I'm scared now that because I've co slept with her for so long I won't ever get her sleeping in her bassinet. HELP

Any suggestions would be appreciated

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts

Hugs!

I don't think 6 weeks is long enough for any "habits" to have formed. Sounds like she just doesn't like the bassinet as much as next to you which is understandable. I know it's frustrating though. DS sleeps in our bed for a couple of hours each morning and I always have to sleep on my side and I find that painful!! Can't imagine doing it all night.