+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Cooking classes from home. Insurance???

Hi. I had baby #2 two weeks ago. I don't want to go back to my 'real' job in January. I have a cooking blog/website (Japanese food) and have had some people interested in classes. I was thinking about starting out small - maybe 5 people in a class once a week at my place. I haven't thought about registering a business or anything yet - just some private cash work at first, I guess. However, I think it would be smart to have some kind of insurance in case someone burns/cuts themselves, chokes etc. Does anyone know what I should be looking into? I'm completely new to setting up any kind of venture..... Thanks.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default Cooking classes from home. Insurance???

You definitely need insurance. Sorry I can't recommend anyone, but just wanted to add that you will need a food handling certificate and may also need to get your kitchen assessed. Contact your local health department and they should be able to give you the information or point you in the right direction.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Thanks. We won't be using my kitchen. We will use individual mini gas cylinder stoves. I was thinking about renting out a place like a CWA hall or church hall. Hmmm. I'll contact the health dept. and ask. Thanks.

Buttoneska is offline Winner 2010- Most Community Minded Thread Award
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts
    Subbing, I run a food business will come back and post.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    I think you will find that the cost of insurance may outweigh any money you may make. For insurance you could try - freeman mcmurrick or AON.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 posts