+ Reply to Thread

Default Formula vs goat/cows milk

Hi my DD is just about to turn one, so I am new to this page!!

I was wondering what your thoughts were on following on with formula or moving on to goats milk or cows milk?

I ask because we were on the Nan HA untill they changed it, now we are on the aptimal gold, dd is fine on it but not sure if I should follow on or move to the fresh stuff?

Just wanting to know who has done what and why?

Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts

I kept DS on his stage 2 goat formula until I thought he was getting all his daily nutrient intake from his food ( about 18 months) I think goat milk is better than cow but neither have all the vitamins and minerals that formula does, plus dairy hinders iron absorption , now at 22 months he has a smoothie every afternoon with either A2/goat or almond milk ( whatever I have open!) or just drinks water

Perth, WA
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Re: Formula vs goat/cows milk

This is just my opinion and what I did with DD, she just turned 2, and I took her off Formula just before her birthday.

She wasn't a good eater due to medical issues that over a long time caused her to have aversions to many foods.

I now have re-trained her (forcwant of a better word) to be able to eat most food groups again.

The only thing she is still funny about is meat/chicken/fish etc. But she gets lotsvof other things for protein, iron etc.

IMO, only you know if your bub eats enough to cover her daily intake, so if you want to continue formula, do it. (Also, BF'ing guidelines reccommend continuing to 2 years at least, so for me it was a no brainer.)

I wouldn't go with the "toddler milk" or follow on formula as IMO, it is just as good to give them the 2nd stage and just reduce the amount of bottles per day.

Sent from my GT-I9300T using BubHub