+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Default advice needed re: daycare when new baby arrives

DD will be just over 2.5 when DS arrives in November, and she currently attends daycare 2 days a week while I am studying. I am trying to decide what to do regarding daycare when DS arrives, and I am so undecided. I need some advice - what should I do? what would you do?

Some brief background - DD started at her daycare centre at 11mths when I returned to uni, and she took quite a while to settle in. In the last 6 months she has happily packed her bag and attended daycare, but doesn't seem to absolutely love it (IYKWIM?). She doesn't mention it when she's not there, and doesn't seem to miss it if she doesn't attend. She does go off and play with the other kids/carers when we arrive and is always happy when I collect her, but she will not speak to the carers when there (she is very reserved/shy) and spends a bit of time doing her own thing I think. She is due to move up to a new room at the end of this year/start of next year, and this involves a new centre (next door) and new carers. I am concerned about how she will adapt to this as she has been in the same building with pretty consistent carers since she started.

I don't want to pull her out totally as I will be returning to uni late next year and I dont' want her to have to re-adjust completely. So, my options are to leave her in 2 days a week, or drop it down to 1 day a week. I am concerned that 1 day a week will make it more challenging for her to adapt to her new environment/carers. 2 days a week at least gives her some more consistency, and I like the idea of spending some 1:1 time with newborn DS (and to catch up on sleep, clean, shop, etc). BUT, I also feel guilty, and wonder if DD would benefit being home with me more because she is so shy/reserved. She seems to thrive in her own environment (is so outgoing/talkative at home).