+ Reply to Thread

Default Are you pregnant? Interested in accessing continuous support throughout your journey?

My name is Frances and I am a student midwife at ACU in Melbourne.

As part of the Bachelor of Midwifery, all student midwives participate in the Continuity of Care Experience program (CCE). The CCE program is a valuable component of my learning experience, and also an amazing and unique opportunity for parents to access free and ongoing one-to-one support.

Inviting a student midwife to be a part of your journey through pregnancy, and in to early parenthood can be a big decision. However, the benefits of participation for women and their families are well documented. Access to your very own student midwife usually entails:
    • Attending antenatal and postnatal appointments with you and your family.
    • Attending antenatal classes with you, or simply meeting up for a tea and a talk.
    • Birth support is offered, though not compulsory in any way!
    • Your student midwife can research information and services for you. However, she will not provide advice, opinions or judgement…
    As your student midwife, I aim to work with you and your family, to be a familiar face and a consistent presence, and to provide woman-centred care and support.

My role is supported by a mentor midwife, as well as by the university. From my end, there is appropriate documentation and checking in on paperwork, process and experience. Be assured, I am well supervised by a brilliant team.

I have an employment background in disability, youth and children’s services, and have worked providing support to people in different environments for many years. I am professional, relaxed and approachable. I am passionate and motivated, and would love the opportunity be a part of your journey. I am flexible with my availability, and prepared to travel.