+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts

Default Any accountants out there? Mine made a mistake which I now have to pay (dearly) for

Just wanted to ask people opinions...

Last year our accountant stupidly wrote the TAX PAID as the total tax earned for one of hubbies jobs. He didn't notice, we stupidly didn't check closely enough (4th year we have seen him, we've never had a problem, in fact he's just about the cockiest guy ever) and the ATO didn't pick up the discrepancy until now, meanwhile they refunded us a nice sum last year; which we put straight on the credit card.

Anyway, now we are supposed to pay back nearly $4,000 D:

Do we just have to 'take it on the chin'? Shouldn't he at least have offered to refund that years fee, or offer a free return this year? He just said 'sorry, I've never done that before'.

I know it wasn't ever really our money, that we owe that tax, it's just a horrific time to have to find it (Live in Gladstone, our rent was just put up $800 a month) all because our accountant missed his morning coffee or something.

We are doing it ourselves via e-tax this year.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts
    I would have thought he would have offered to refund you the cost of the return, as a goodwill gesture if nothing else.

I don't see you have any recourse, unfortunately, as you haven't suffered any loss out of it. If the ATO charges you interest or a fine, then you could ask them to pay.

It's very annoying, though, suddenly having to shell out $4k.

Thanks
    Reviews
    You should be contacting the ato and discussing it with them! You paid for your accountant to do it and if he is registered to do tax on your behalf then shouldnt his company have to pay for there stuff up? You trusted them to do it correctly afterall. I wouldnt be taking it thats for sure!!