+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Nursing and Midwifery Study Options....

I'm looking for some advice on study options.

My passion is for midwifery and had been accepted to study this year but deffered (personal reasons). So I know the option of the 3 yr direct entry but have been mulling over whether or not to try and include nursing.

So I guess I have quite a number of questions with regards to which way to go and how to go about it! Here goes...

Even though my main goal is to become a midwife I think I would also enjoy nursing. Is it better to have both nursing and midwifery qualifications when apply for jobs? If so, why? If not, why? Does it make you more employable? Is there more scope for higher pay over time?

I have a degree and a post grad. qual. I've realised I could do a graduate entry nursing degree of 2 years! and then I could go on to do post grad. midwifery. Has anyone done this? Where did you study? What's the best external study option? The benignant of doing it this way would obviously be gaining both quals in 3 years! Can I be employed as a nurse and then be sponsored to study the midwifery? If I did the study in this way, would I be looked upon as more of a nurse than a midwife? I also think if I did it this way I'd be missing out on the 3yrs of study purely dedicated to midwifery and that is the area I am most passionate about....

Oh gosh, that is probably enough questions for now! I hope you can make sense of that mess! SO many questions to ask!

Thanks

Thanks
    Reviews
    Bump

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    I started in nursing originally because direct entry mid wasn't available, if it had been then i would have jumped right in.
    it is my understanding that as a nurse/midwife you would be more 'employable', as in if it came down to a midwife vs a nurse/midwife the latter would probable picked. does that make sense?