+ Reply to Thread
    OJandMe is offline I am the strength my children will have.
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 postsAmethyst Star - 5,000 postsEmerald Star - 10,000 posts

Default Can re-building a relationship with a parent ever happen?

Things came to a head with my Dad recently. And I've realised that he has absolutely no understanding of me as a daughter.

He treats me like I'm a student and he's my academic adviser. He knows nothing about what I was involved in at school, shows no interest in my likes and dislikes and really hasn't ever been an affectionate person in any way.

The problem is, he thinks were 'really close'.... but he can't see how hurt it makes me that he goes on and on and on about what my little brother is up to (third and current wife.... my sister and I were second wife.. ended when I was 7.. so he was fortnight/half-holiday Dad) and then has to turn around and ask me if I did any sporting clubs at school.. and then goes on and on and on and on every time I see him that I "have my degree" so "Should be working full-time"... without having any understanding or support for what is going on in my life right now.. ( two infant school kids, 3 kids still at home, DH who is a full-time student, and the inability to afford childcare full-time + the stress that would place on my family) I'm doing relief work... I'm HAPPY doing that and being home with the kids, I have no desire to work full-time till they are in school...

But he keeps pressuring.

His marriage to my Mum broke up because he put his career first, dragged us all over the country/world to further it, then walked away because it was too stressful juggling an unappreciated wife, two little kids and his work.

So I kind of blew up at him and basically want to try and start again....

With him actually being my FATHER....

I just want a Dad....