+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default Midwifery student looking for pregnant women!

Hi ladies!

My name is Jess and I'm a first year student of midwifery at Victoria University in Melbourne. As part of my course, I'm required to 'recruit' pregnant women who are under 32 weeks gestation to follow and support them throughout their pregnancy

"The central educational focus of this program is based on a 'with woman' philosophy that is a belief that the woman's experience of pregnancy and childbirth are unique to each woman and that birth is a normal life experience. The role of the midwife is to facilitate a professional relationship whereby both the woman and the midwife are committed to a partnership of mutual empowerment and learning. The relationship between a woman and her midwife is central to the students' teaching and learning process."

The expectations and commitment from women participating in this experience

Should you agree to participate in this experience, you will be required to engage in:

- a professional relationship with a midwifery student, who is under the guidance of an academic midwifery mentor, from early pregnancy to the first few weeks following your baby's birth; this will require the student to negotiate suitable meeting or telephone conversations times with you

- basic health assessment of yourself and baby by the student, which includes interviewing, history taking, assessing wellness, discussion of your experiences of pregnancy, family dynamics and health promotion

- offering the student the opportunity to accompany you to pregnancy/prenatal visits, childbirth education sessions, exercise classes, visits to the agency where the birth of your baby will take place, and the after birth visits during the first weeks; where time and circumstances permit, and with your consent, the student will be able to be with you during your labour and the birth of your baby.