+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thanks
    Reviews

Default My 9 week old only sleeps in 40 min cycles during the day.

Hi, this is my first time so hope I'm doing it right!

I have a beautiful 9 week old girl who is sleeping 10-12 hours a night and only waking once for a feed.
    She goes down very well during the day BUT only sleeps for 40 mins. When she wakes she is all smiles and stretches. So I get her up, we have a play, feed and another play, then back for another 40 min sleep.

I'm wondering how I can stretch this sleep out as I'm reading that she should be sleeping for up to 2 hours!!! I wish!!!

I've read Save our Sleep by Tizzie Hall and have taken from it what I found useful. The only thing is, it suggests we get rid of the dummy because after a 40 min cycle she wakes looking for it and doesn't know how to resettle. I completely understand this and it makes sense, but we introduced the dummy to help with wind and reflux so I don't really want to ditch it.

Any thoughts, I'd be very grateful!

Thanks
    Reviews
    She sounds like she's sleeping beautifully to be honest.

If it were me I'd let things go as they are, because I'd rather the night sleep stayed good rather than risk the night sleep for a longer day sleep.

Best of luck which ever you do though

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Fluffbum For This Useful Post:

Bubbles10  (21-06-2012)

Thanks
    Reviews
    Ds would only sleep for 1 cycle during the day at that age and was a pretty good sleeper at night. He was about 4 or 5 months old before he started sleeping more than 1 cycle. I just became really got at speed cleaning in that short time that he was asleep.

Thanks
    Reviews
    Oh and I dont think this needs to be in the tech help area

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 posts
    Awards:
    Bubhub Blogger