Hi my name is Melanie and I am a first year Student Midwife with Griffith University.
Over the course of my degree I am required to recruitpregnant women who would approve of having myself follow them along theirjourney through pregnancy and birth.

I am currently seeking a minimum of 3 ladies birthing at the Logan Hospital who are 25+ weeks pregnant, and 3 women who may have just recently found out they are pregnant, and so birthing next year.

If this is you firstly, CONGRATULATIONS this is a very exciting time and if you would like to ask me any questions about having me as your student midwife please don't hesitate to ask.

I have 2 children of my own so I like to think it gives me a personal insight into your experience, making me more compassionate and understanding of this precious time in your life.

If you were interested in having me as a student midwife Ican organise a time to come and have a coffee with you and talk about it orhere is a summary of what it involves below.
I am required to attend a minimum of 5 antenatalappointments with you.
{antenatal appointments include anything where you and bubare physically assessed for blood pressure, fundal height, fetal heartmonitoring, feeling your belly etc so can be a GP visit [either in thecommunity or at the hospital clinics], a midwife visit [again either in thecommunity clinics or at the hospital], or an Obstetrician.]
I can also attend ultrasounds or antenatal classes etc withyou if you would like me too but these don't count under the 2/5 visits. But Iam happy to attend if you would like some extra support.
I must always meet you at these appointments for insurancereasons and can never meet you at home unless a midwife will be visiting you aswell ( eg. postnatal home visit)