+ Reply to Thread
    Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts

Question Choosing a new sewing machine....

Hi everyone.

I just sold my very basic janome machine and am looking to upgrade to a computerized machine.
    No more Janome though as they are terribly expensive and the local Janome shop has one of THE most rudest sales people I have ever encountered.
    So I am thinking Brother as I am on a budget.
    I have $400,- to spend.

I am tossing between the NS20 for $379, the NS30 for $429 and and DS140 for $349,-.
    The NS models have a steel frame and will wear slower, the DS140 is just a complete plastic machine and will end up wearing a lot faster.
    I am still a beginner as I haven't really had a lot of time to sew with DS now being special needs and being a sole parent for life.
    So that is why I really don't want to fork out 600-700 bucks for something that will be overkill.

The NS20 and DS140 have 40 stitches and 1 button hole, the NS30 has 70 stitches and 7 button holes.

So which one would you go for? There's $80 difference between the worst and best model.....

Thanks
    Reviews
    Im a sewist but still on a basic machine because i can't afford to upgrade! I would go the n30 seriously love that machine! And there are so many tutorials online to show you things!

Thanks
    Reviews
    Achievements:Topaz Star - 500 postsAmber Star - 2,000 posts
    If I ever have the time, I'll do an online sewing course, but it will be when DS starts school in like 3 years lol

The DS140 is an older model and Spotlight is the only one who sells it here. You get 40 stitches for $349 on a plastic machine whereas you get 40 stitches on steel machine for $379. So "only" 30 bucks extra. I am just not sure if that plastic is such a big deal. I wont use the machine all day every day, so surely it wont wear out that much?